The 5 Stages of Grief: What to Expect and How to Cope

Grief doesn’t always follow a linear path. There are no universal stages of grief that work the same way for everyone. Instead, people cope with loss in different ways and at different paces. One person may go through the five stages of grief quickly, while another takes months or years to fully process their loss. The 5 stages of grief — also known as Kübler-Ross stage theory — are commonly used to describe how someone might react when faced with imminent death or an irreparable alteration of their lifestyle. Each stage is essentially a defense mechanism our bodies use to deal with stress, fear, and anxiety about change. The process is not only natural but inevitable for those who have experienced great loss.

Grief – a natural part of life

There is no way to avoid an experience of grief. Everyone will experience it differently and differently often. It doesn’t matter if you are a family member, friend, or professional. We are all living with the consequences of grief. One of the best ways to help someone through this process is to listen. Know what to say and what to avoid. Listen to what they are going through and give them suggestions on how to move forward.

Grief is a natural response to the loss of a loved one. It may seem like an exhausting process, but the reality is that grief can become something that can actually help you in your life. The beauty of grief is that it helps you have a deeper understanding of yourself and others, and it can help you find happiness again. Here are the 5 stages of grief and how to help your friends and family dealing with grief.

Memorial Diamond


Denial is often the first reaction people have when they’re faced with a death or tragedy. It’s a defense mechanism that lets us cope with the shock of a sudden event. People in denial may refuse to believe a loved one has died or be unable to accept that they have a serious illness. It’s not a sign of weakness, but a sign that the brain is trying to insulate itself from the pain.

If your loved one is in denial, be patient. Don’t force them to confront the situation before they’re ready. Denial can last for days, weeks, months, or even years. People in denial may also be more prone to certain health issues, like anxiety, insomnia, and digestive issues. If you’re struggling with these symptoms but don’t know why, denial could be the culprit. If you think you might be in denial, don’t worry. It’s a very normal reaction to an abnormal event.


Once denial wears off, anger will likely set in. Anger can be a sign that the healing process is underway. It may be a way of dealing with the grief and loss you’re experiencing. Most of the time, anger shows that you’re ready to face what’s happening. It’s a positive step towards accepting the inevitable. If you find yourself getting angry, try to channel your feelings into something positive. Maybe you want to write a blog post about the experience, donate money to a cause you care about, or volunteer at a local nonprofit. There are lots of ways to redirect your anger so that it helps, rather than hurts, you and those around you.


If denial is wishing the situation away and anger is confronting the situation, bargaining is trying to negotiate a different outcome. Bargaining can be a sign that you’re coming to terms with what has happened. You’re trying to make sense of the situation by discussing the “what ifs.” Bargaining is perfectly normal when you’re going through grief. If you find yourself bargaining, it’s important to remember that it won’t change the outcome. Your loved one is gone and nothing you say or do will bring him back. The best way to move past this stage is to let go of your expectations. You can’t change what’s happened. The only thing you can do is learn from the experience and move forward with your life.


This is when feelings of sadness and grief begin to set in. It’s a natural part of the grieving process. If you’re feeling depressed, that doesn’t mean you’re weak. It means you’re human. People go through periods of sadness and mourning when they lose a loved one. This is like a wave. You’ll start feeling bad, the wave will peak, and then it will start to subside. Usually, these feelings will get better over time. But you should seek help if the sadness lasts more than two weeks or interferes with your daily life.

There are many ways to cope with depression. You can talk to a therapist, join a support group, or write in a journal. You can also find healthy ways to manage stress and boost your self-esteem. Exercise, healthy eating, and getting enough sleep are great ways to keep your mood in check.


The final stage of the grieving process is acceptance. But you don’t have to wait until you’ve completely processed your grief to feel acceptance. Acceptance is about knowing that things will never be the way they were. You’ve learned to cope with the loss, you’ve accepted that the death or tragedy is real, and you’ve processed all of your feelings about it. You’ve learned from the experience and gained insight that will help you move forward with your life. If you’re at this stage, you’ve accepted the reality of your loss and are ready to move on and heal. You’ll feel a sense of peace about what has happened and are ready to move forward with your life.

The 5 Stages of Grief - acceptance

Helping a Loved One Through The 5 Stages of Grief

If you’re trying to support someone who is going through a loss, the best thing you can do is be patient and understanding. Don’t rush them through the grieving process and don’t try to cheer them up. Instead, be there and listen. If they’re grieving, they need time to process what’s happened. Let them cry or get angry. And remember that this is a normal reaction to a very abnormal event. You can’t heal their broken hearts, but you can help by being there, listening, and not judging their reactions. You can also help them seek out support by recommending online forums, therapy, or other resources for people who are grieving.

Grief is an inevitable part of life

Grief is a natural and inevitable part of life. No matter how old you are, you will experience grief at some point. It’s important to know that grief is not a sign of weakness. In fact, it’s a sign of strength. Grief is your body’s way of reacting to loss — whether that loss is the death of a loved one or a breakup with a significant other.

Feelings of grief can be triggered by many things, from the loss of a pet to a divorce or breaking up with a long-term partner. Grief can also result from having a child. It is also normal to grieve when someone you know has been diagnosed with a serious illness. You may experience all five stages of grief or you may skip one or more stages. Everyone deals with grief in different ways and at different paces.

In different cultures, there are different ways to deal with grief, from sitting Shiva to creating death beads in Korea. Another way to keep the loved one close to you is by creating a memorial diamond from ashes or hair. Cremation jewelry has become a way to remember lost loved ones and also find a meaningful next life for cremation ashes.



Ready to Start the Process?

Submission kit contains everything you need to safely package up the ashes or hair


Stay Up To Date

Sign up to receive our latest blog posts, grief wellness resources, and featured articles.